What a catamaran charter in Greece includes, and what is extra

Greece catamaran charter: the weekly fee is €4,527–9,538. Fuel, marina, skipper, TEPAI, deposit and APA, with what is not verified.

Updated By the Catamaran Index editorial teamMethodology

Stern of a white sailing catamaran moored at the quay in Gialos harbour, Ios, Greece, with the town on the hill behind

Photo: NorbertNagel, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Resized.

Weekly fee

€4,527–9,538

March to August

Source: 12 Knots, checked

Fuel

€315/week

Greece catamaran table

Source: The Globe Sailor, checked

Skipper

€195/day

€1,365 for 7 days

Source: The Globe Sailor, checked

Deposit

€3,500

Refundable, not in the fee

Source: The Globe Sailor, checked

TEPAI depends on length. Whether your quote includes it is not stated in the official FAQ.

The weekly price we publish for a catamaran in Greece, €4,527–9,538, is the charter fee only. It runs from €4,527 in March to €9,538 in August in 12 Knots' asking prices (updated October 2026) (12 Knots, checked 27 Oct 2026). Fuel, marina nights, cleaning, food, a skipper and the Greek cruising fee sit on top. For 8 people our all-in estimate, which does not include the cruising fee, is €6,708–11,719 per week (our arithmetic).

Checked 2026-11-03. 12 Knots mixes bareboat and crewed listings, so this is not a bareboat-only average. We do not have an official list of what a Greek bareboat fee includes, and we do not invent one.

Fuel, marina fees and mandatory extras

The Globe Sailor's September 2026 catamaran table for Greece (The Globe Sailor, checked 28 Oct 2026). Fuel per week and the port fee per night are our reading of that table.

ItemAmountIn the weekly fee?
Fuel budget€315 per weekNo. Budget it on top
Port fee€56 per nightNo. Six nights is €336 (our arithmetic)
Mandatory extras, including final cleaning€410No. Listed separately
Food, excluding drinks€20–€40 per person per dayNo. You provision
Security deposit (refundable)€3,500No. Held, then returned
Damage waiver (optional)€166No. Optional

For 8 people at the low food rate, fuel, six marina nights and mandatory extras, the add-on before a skipper is €2,181 in the cheapest month and €2,181 in the priciest (our arithmetic: all-in minus the charter fee). The full party-size table is on true cost of a week in Greece.

Skipper and cook

  • Skipper: €195 per day in the same table, so €1,365 for 7 days (our arithmetic), plus the skipper's meals (The Globe Sailor, checked 28 Oct 2026). Month by month: Greece with a skipper.
  • Cook or hostess: a published day rate for Greece is not verified.
  • Crewed charter: an APA of 25–35% of the fee is the usual float for food, drink, fuel and harbour fees on a sailing yacht or catamaran (Helm, checked 27 Oct 2026), and a tip of 10–20% is customary (Worth Avenue Yachts, checked 27 Oct 2026). A crewed-catamaran average for Greece is not verified. Named gulet cards, which are a different boat: crewed yacht charter. The MYBA specimen we read says a crewed fee includes the yacht, its equipment, the crew's wages and food, and the vessel's insurance, and that fuel and the guests' food are extra (MYBA The Worldwide Yachting Association, checked 1 Nov 2026). That clause is for crewed charters, not a bareboat.

TEPAI, the Greek cruising fee

AADE imposes TEPAI on private and professional leisure ships over 7 m in Greek waters, any flag (Independent Authority for Public Revenue (AADE), checked 3 Nov 2026). The Greek FAQ sets the monthly amount by length (our translation) (Independent Authority for Public Revenue (AADE), checked 3 Nov 2026):

Total lengthTEPAI per month
Above 7 m, up to 8 m€16
Above 8 m, up to 10 m€25
Above 10 m, up to 12 m€33
Above 12 m€8 per metre, from the first metre

A 12.01 m yacht in the FAQ's own example owes €96.08 for one month. Most charter catamarans are longer than 12 m, so the statutory fee is length times €8 per month before any discount. Professional ships over 12 m may take a further 25% off for exclusive professional use, and paying a whole calendar year in December or January takes 10% off (Independent Authority for Public Revenue (AADE), checked 3 Nov 2026). Whether the charter company passes TEPAI on to you is not stated. We do not add it to the all-in estimate.

Transit log

Issuing a Transit Log requires proof that TEPAI has been paid (Independent Authority for Public Revenue (AADE), checked 3 Nov 2026). A euro fee for the document itself, and whether a Greek-flag charter catamaran's guest pays one, are not verified.

Tourist tax, deposit and insurance

  • A separate per-person tourist tax on charter guests in Greece: not verified. TEPAI is a fee on the ship, not a hotel-style bed tax.
  • Deposit: €3,500, refundable, in The Globe Sailor's Greece catamaran row (The Globe Sailor, checked 28 Oct 2026). It is not part of the weekly price.
  • Hull insurance inside a bareboat fee: not verified. The optional damage waiver in that table is €166. The MYBA line on vessel insurance applies to the crewed specimen we read, not to bareboat.

Compare and book

See catamarans for rent in Greece on SamBoat

We may earn a commission if you book through our links, at no extra cost to you (disclosure). Also compare: Click&Boat · Searadar.

See also: Greece catamaran cost by month · true cost · how many days · Lefkas itinerary · with a skipper.

Frequently asked questions

What is included in a catamaran charter in Greece?

The figure we can publish is the weekly asking price, €4,527–9,538, and it is the fee only (12 Knots, October 2026). We have no official list of what that fee includes. Fuel, marina fees, cleaning, food and a skipper are priced separately by The Globe Sailor.

What are the extra costs on a Greece catamaran charter?

The Globe Sailor's September 2026 Greece catamaran row lists fuel at €315 per week, port fees at €56 per night, mandatory extras at €410, a refundable deposit of €3,500 and a skipper at €195 per day. Food is €20–40 per person per day. TEPAI is extra in law and may or may not be in your quote.

Do I pay APA on a bareboat catamaran in Greece?

APA is the float on a crewed charter, usually 25–35% of the fee for a sailing yacht or catamaran (Helm). It is not a bareboat extra in the sources we use. A crewed-catamaran average for Greece is not verified.

Is the Greek transit log included?

A Transit Log requires proof that TEPAI is paid (AADE FAQ). A euro price for issuing the document, and whether a charter guest pays it, are not verified.